Author Topic: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?  (Read 7401 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Peter1000TCR

  • 1000 cc
  • ****
  • Posts: 6
Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« on: May 13, 2007, 09:59:11 PM »
Hello Guy(s),

First I want to say that I've had a real great day, 5th may, at the grand opening of the museum. You've got a real nice place there, Guy.
That day I bought a cooling nose and a set of wide rear fenders, but the fenders doesn't fit really nice. Look at photo. What seams to be the problem here? Maybe wrong car or something. It's a Fiat/seat 600 from 1973. 
And I've got another question. Is it possible to fit an 1300 cc twincam engine in an fiat/seat 600 from 1973?

many thanks, Peter 
« Last Edit: February 22, 2009, 04:48:56 PM by webchef »
Building an Abarth 1000 TCR Replica

Offline Pantdino

  • 2000 cc
  • *******
  • Posts: 315
  • 500
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2007, 07:37:06 AM »
Peter,

I am uploading some video onto youtube that I shot at SpaItalia last year of a 1300 SOHC motor mounted in a 1000TC. 
It should be viewable sometime tomorrow. Search under "Fiat Abarth 1000TC at Spa Italia" or under my screen name, Pantdino.

As far as the fender goes, I have never done that body work but I know you have to cut away the original metal fender some when you install the TCR wide fenders.

Jim

Offline Peter1000TCR

  • 1000 cc
  • ****
  • Posts: 6
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2007, 12:38:40 PM »
Thanks for the reply. I'll watch the video
Building an Abarth 1000 TCR Replica

Offline ChrisD

  • 2000 cc
  • *******
  • Posts: 156
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2007, 01:00:32 PM »
Peter,

some help regarding the fenders: Unbolt the rear engine suport a it so that there is enaugh space for the fiberglass fender to fit in there. Notice the 2 cuts the fender has in the rear. These cuts are made for the rear panel bolts. Also, don't use the curve the 600 has in the chassis, but first mount the bottom part of the fender (the one that seems to hang out in the first picture). The curve the fender has on the top is way up than the mettalic curve. In order to much the horizontal curve in the chassis I grinded a bit the fender. It is not an easy fit but I guess you can do it. I had no idea how to install it but I did all by myself.
Good luck.

Chris
Fiat 600 Abarth

Offline Pantdino

  • 2000 cc
  • *******
  • Posts: 315
  • 500
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2007, 07:14:09 AM »
Peter,

The video didn't upload last night because the file size was too big. A smaller file size video is uploading now, but it takes a day or so before you can see it on youtube I think

Jim

Offline Peter1000TCR

  • 1000 cc
  • ****
  • Posts: 6
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2007, 09:20:29 PM »
@ ChrisD, I pre-fitted them like you told me, and they seem to fit better, thanks for the advice. I'll post a picture tomorrow or something.
@ Pantdino, the video is great. I think i'm going to fit an 1300 cc engine also.

Does anybody know what tire size I should use?

Building an Abarth 1000 TCR Replica

Offline Pantdino

  • 2000 cc
  • *******
  • Posts: 315
  • 500
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2007, 06:14:11 AM »
Peter,

You should probably talk to Guy about putting a 1300cc motor in your 600.  The obvious problems that come to mind are:

1) how much does that motor weigh?  It might be a lot of weight to have in the back of the car and make the car handle badly
2) the 600D transaxle was only designed for about 30hp. Since you can easily get 80hp from a 1050 motor, the only reason to put in a 1300 would be to get 100 or more. That will tear up the 600D transaxle very fast if you use all that power and torque. If you have to be careful how much gas you give it and not use all the power, why have it?

If you are a wealthy person who wants to use the car only for hillclimbs (where the big weight in the back won't be so bad), I'm sure it would be a lot of fun.
Otherwise you may want to use a 1050 like most people do.

But then again I may be all wrong, since I'm new to Abarths myself.

Jim

Offline zippyfiat

  • 2000 cc
  • *******
  • Posts: 185
  • 500
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2007, 05:26:26 PM »
The stock 600D tranaxle should be just fine with around 100HP according to everything I've ever read.  I used to know someone with a Berlina Corsa that had a hot Fiat 124 twincam in it, with the stock transaxle.  It handled the power fine.  His car used to really "squat" when it took off from the start at autocrosses.

With 100hp + in a 600, you will want to beef up the suspension.  You also better look at reinforcing the chassis too, to be able to handle high horsepower.

There used to be a kit available in the US (PBS?) for installing a 128 SOHC motor in a 600 or 850.  I don't think weight is an issue, but you'd have to deal with the engine being longer.

I recall Al Cosentino having a photo in one of his books with an injected motor in a late Berlina Corsa (circa 1972).  I can't find the photo at the moment.  He claimed it was producing 125HP, but it was not legal in the US to race, so he raced it in Canada.  That would be an awesome setup, but definitely not for the street!

You can get some pretty good horsepower from 1050cc (or 903cc block bored/stroked to 1050cc) engine with all of the right stuff in it.  Take a look at the Scuderia Topolino website for lots of good info.  I love his website for all of the great tech. info.!!

Gil

Offline Peter1000TCR

  • 1000 cc
  • ****
  • Posts: 6
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2007, 06:12:28 PM »
Thanks alot for the advice guys. But I found an ritmo 1100 cc engine for sale on the net, so I think i'm going to buy this. But I still need some advice on the tyres and rims. I think i'm going to widen the standard steel rims of an fiat panda or something. But to witch wideness?? 
Building an Abarth 1000 TCR Replica

Offline Peter1000TCR

  • 1000 cc
  • ****
  • Posts: 6
Re: Abarth 1000 TCR with 1300 TC engine?
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2007, 10:27:40 PM »
Hello Guys, a little update on my project.

Yesterday I pre-fitted the front spoiler, and it looks really nice. I also got an email from the guy who sells the 1100 cc ritmo engine, and it probably fits!!! So I am really excited!!. I'll keep you guys up to date on my project.

Building an Abarth 1000 TCR Replica